Annual Public Hunting Permit Information and Maps

The Public Hunting Lands Map Booklet and Public Dove Hunting Areas supplement have been combined this year into eight public hunting regions. Most of these new public hunting regions are based on population centers like Dallas-Ft. Worth, Houston-Beaumont, San Antonio-Corpus Christi, etc. Please check the Map of New Texas Public Hunting Regions to locate the public hunting areas near you.

Each public hunt region has a chart showing which animals may be hunted on each area. Most areas support dove hunting.

region 1 panhandle region 2 trans pecos region 3 central texas region 4 Dallas Fort Worth region 5 Pineywoods region 6 Austin Waco region 7 Houston Beaumont region 8 San Antonio

Map of New Texas Public Hunting Regions

Introduction, Changes, Special Reminders

Legal Game Species and Definitions

Prohibited Acts and Restrictions

Additional Information and Restrictions on U.S. Forest Service Units

Youth Hunting and Hunter Education

Postcard and Phone Selection Hunts

Ten Commandments of Shooting Safety

Map Book Legend

Public Hunt Region 1 - Panhandle

Public Hunt Region 2 - Trans-Pecos

Public Hunt Region 3 - Central Texas

Public Hunt Region 4 - Dallas/Ft. Worth

Public Hunt Region 5 - Pineywoods

Public Hunt Region 6 - Austin/Waco

Public Hunt Region 7 - Houston/Beaumont

Public Hunt Region 8 - San Antonio/Corpus Christi

Questions and Answers

Schedule of Recreational Use and Visitation

On-Site Registration and Forms

Annual Public Hunting Use Scorecard

Back to Top
Back to Top