Texas Wetlands Discovery Trunk

We now have Discovery Trunks for wetlands studies!

Twenty-five Texas Wetland Education Trunks have been distributed to educators and education centers across the state and are available for loan to teachers.

These trunks contain lesson plans, books, posters, videos, Texas Amphibian Watch materials (including a frog and toad calls cd-rom) and field equipment to guide students in their investigations of wetland habitats. The trunks emphasize hands-on learning both in the classroom and in the field. Suggested activities at different grade levels for a 1- to 3-week study of Texas wetlands are correlated to the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills.

For information on trunk locations and contacts, see below. For other questions, phone TPWD Aquatic Education Coordinator, Karen Marks, at 512.389.4732.

City   Location Contact Email  Phone Address 
Abilene Region XIV Service Center

Shawn Schlueter

sschlueter@esc14.net 325-675-7018 1850 Highway 351
Abilene 79601
Athens
Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center
Zoe Ann Stinchcomb      Zoeann.stinchcomb@tpwd.state.tx.us 903.670.2211 5550FM 2495
Athens 75751
Austin Texas Parks and Wildlife headquarters Robert Ramirez robert2.ramirez@tpwd.state.tx.us 512.389.4528 4200 Smith School Rd.
Austin 78744
College Station Texas A&M University - Texas Cooperative Wildlife Collection Heather Prestridge hlprestridge@tamu.edu 979.845.5783 3380 University Dr.
East College Station, 77845
Dickinson TPWD office - Dickinson Marine Lab Greg Akins greg.akins@tpwd.state.tx.us 281-534-0123 FM 517 E.
Dickinson 77539
Fort Worth Fort Worth Nature Center Laura Veloz laura.veloz@fortworthtexas.gov 817-392-7413 9601 Fossil Ridge Rd.
Ft. Worth 76135
Grand Prairie Grand Prairie Environmental Education Center Tracy Hollis tracy.hollis@gpisd.org 972.264.8729 3303 Corn Valley Rd.
Grand Prairie 75052
Grand Prairie North Texas Education Center - Grand Prairie (TPWD)     972.263.0427 P.O. Box 540066
Grand Prairie, 75054
Houston Sheldon Lake Environmental Ed. Center Tom Olson tom.olson@tpwd.state.tx.us 281.456.2800 15315 Beaumont Hwy.
Houston 77049
Houston Houston,    TPWD office

Diana Foss

diana.foss@tpwd.state.tx.us 281-456-7029 ext 21 14320 Garrett Rd, Houston, TX 77044
Humble Jesse Jones Park - Humble Darlene Conley dconley@hcp4.net 281.446.8588 20634 Kenswick Dr.
Humble 77338
Lake Jackson Sea Center Texas Brittney Zepeda Brittney.zepeda@tpwd.state.tx.us 979.292.0100 300 Medical Dr.
Lake Jackson 77566
San Antonio San Antonio Judit Green judit.green@tpwd.state.tx.us 210-688-6444 12861 Galm Road, San Antonio 78254
Wichita Falls Lake Arrowhead State Park John Ferguson john.ferguson@tpwd.state.tx.us 940.528.2211 229 Park Road 63 Wichita Falls 76310

Back to Top
Back to Top