Please help us improve our online customer experience by taking a five-minute survey. We appreciate your participation.
+-------------------------------------------------------------------------+ | TPWD News Releases Dated 2009-05-20 | +-------------------------------------------------------------------------+ | This page contains only plain text, no HTML formatting codes. | | It is not designed for display in a browser but for copying | | and editing in whatever software you use to lay out pages. | | To copy the text into an editing program: | | --Display this page in your browser. | | --Select all. | | --Copy. | | --Paste in a document in your editing program. | | If you have any suggestions for improving these pages, send | | an e-mail to email@example.com and mention Plain Text Pages. | +-------------------------------------------------------------------------+ [ Note: This item is more than four years old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references. ] [ Media Contact: Tom Harvey, 512-389-4453, firstname.lastname@example.org ] [TH] May 20, 2009 Boaters Reminded About Registration, New Web Renewal Service Available AUSTIN, Texas -- Boaters gearing up for summer fun on the water in Texas are reminded about the need for boat registration and boat and outboard motor titling. Also, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department has a new Web service that started in March which allows boat owners to renew online. Boat owners can now eliminate the drive and renew an existing boat registration listed in their name using a credit card online. They can also update their address and order additional ID cards when renewing online. This service is available to boats titled and registered through Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, but is not available to boats documented (titled) through the United States Coast Guard, as they must provide proof of current documentation for registration. Boat owners can also register by providing all forms and supporting documents, any required application fees, and any boat/outboard motor taxes at TPWD headquarters in Austin or any of the 27 TPWD law enforcement (game warden) field offices throughout the state or at participating county Tax Assessor-Collector Offices. To find participating offices, check the TPWD Web site. Most boats are required by law to have current registration when on Texas public water, including vessels that are docked or moored. Texas registration is required for motorized boats of any length (including those with trolling motors), sailboats 14 feet in length or longer or sailboats with auxiliary engines, plus U.S. Coast Guard documented vessels. Exempted boats that are not required to register include all non-motorized canoes, kayaks, rubber rafts (regardless of length) and similar craft if they are paddled, poled, or oared; as well as sailboats under 14 feet in length when windblown; USCG documented commercial vessels used in coastal shipping; and USCG documented vessels exceeding 115 feet in length. Most boats are also required to be titled in Texas, including all motorized boats of any length and all sailboats 14 feet in length or longer or any sailboat with auxiliary engines. All internal combustion (gasoline/diesel powered) outboard boat motors must also be titled. Current boat registration fees range from $30-to-$90 per vessel, with higher fees for longer vessels. Registration and titling fees are proposed to increase, but the change wouldn't take effect until Sep. 1. Here are few helpful reminders that may prevent problems for boat owners: --Purchasing a boat from an individual? Check the ownership information first, it's easy to do and free. You can see whether the boat has a title and determine who is listed as the owner and if that matches to the person (or their legal representative) that you are buying the boat from. Avoid buying a boat with existing problems by determining is a lien exists and whether it has been released by the bank. Avoid situations noted on the record where an issue exists that will prevent a smooth transfer of ownership. Remember, when a title has been issued, you'll need the seller to provide the title with the purchaser's name and address listed on the back of the title and a bill of sale to complete the transfer into your name. --Didn't get your registration renewal notice? Check the ownership information to see if you need to update your address. Providing an updated address is free and easy by using TPWD form PWD 143-M (boats) or PWD 144-M (outboard motors). All forms may be downloaded online or picked up at a registration office. --Texas experiences all kind of weather events -- did a boat wash up on your property during the most recent hurricane or flood? Use the ownership information to connect with the owners. --Check the documents before making the trip -- Just moved to Texas? Inherited a boat? Selling as a result of divorce? Won a boat in a raffle? Titling a homemade boat? And the list goes on. Before making a drive to one of the offices, you can check to see what documents are needed by viewing the "Requirements for Specific Transactions for Vessels and Outboard Motors". Summarized graphs with detailed explanations are available on the TPWD Boat Ownership Web page. --- On the Net: http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/fishboat/ -30- [ Note: This item is more than four years old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references. ] [ Media Contact: Tom Harvey, 512-389-4453, email@example.com ] [TH] May 20, 2009 New Art Work Takes Deer License Plate from Pink to Macho Big Game Lovers Encouraged to "Show What Drives You!" AUSTIN, Texas -- The white-tailed deer specialty license plate that benefits big game management and research in Texas now sports new and improved artwork depicting a white-tailed deer, an image based fittingly on a trophy buck from a ranch served by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department technical assistance program. The white-tailed deer license plate used to have art that was, well, pink. The new art portrays a true "venado macho" depicted in original hand-drawn art by TPWD artist Clemente Guzman. The photo on which the art is based was obtained by TPWD Wildlife Biologist Jimmy Rutledge, who has worked with private landowners in South Texas on some of the state's finest white-tail ranches for more than 20 years. "John R. Nelson of Cotulla took that photo, a friend of mine and the department," Rutledge said. "He took it on the Wright Ranch in La Salle County, which happens to be one of our cooperators operating under a department-approved wildlife management plan. So to me, that photo really symbolizes our department philosophy of sound habitat management to achieve healthy wildlife." Since it debuted in March 2002, the white-tailed plate has grossed more than $440,000 to benefit big game management and hunting programs. That includes helping fund efforts like TPWD's Pronghorn Antelope Aerial Survey, Mule Deer Aerial Survey, Pronghorn Antelope Genetics Study, Comparison of Deer Survey Techniques for Small Acreages, White-tailed Deer Surveys and Texas Wildlife Information Management Services (TWIMS). The deer plate is one of five specialty plates that support the TPWD mission. Others include the bluebonnet license plate benefiting Texas State Parks, the largemouth bass license plate benefiting largemouth bass management and production, the Texas horned lizard license plate benefiting wildlife diversity and the Ducks Unlimited plate benefiting wetlands habitat and diverse waterfowl. All told, the plates have raised more than $4 million for conservation work since 1999. An expanded Texas Conservation License Plate Web site not only makes it easy to order the plates, but it includes a big section called Projects Funded: Where The Money Goes that details how the money from each plate is used. All conservation license plates are available for vehicles, trailers and mortorcycles and cost just $30, with $22 going directly to help fund conservation efforts in Texas. The plate cost is an annual fee in addition to the vehicle registration fee. Motorists can order a plate anytime; it's not necessary to wait for a renewal notice. Plates can be purchased online or at any county tax office in Texas, and should be ready about two weeks after the order is placed. --- On the Net: http://www.conservationplate.org/ -30-