



Wildlife Permits

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

This publication is designed to give information regarding some of the permits issued by the Wildlife Division of Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. Permits are required to possess, display, care for, propagate, collect, transport or sell protected wildlife species. For additional information about laws pertaining to these species or any of the permits discussed here please call toll-free at (800) 792-1112, menu 7, option 2. You should also contact your city and/or county for local rules regarding holding live wild animals. The permits referenced here do not apply to special hunts.

Permits Issued

Protected Wildlife Rehabilitation

For care of injured and orphaned wild animals. No fee, must renew annually.

Scientific Research

For scientific studies involving native Texas wildlife. \$53.00 (for 3 years)

Educational Display

For the collection and/or display of wildlife for educational purposes. \$53.00 (for 3 years)

Zoological Collection

For the collection, propagation, and/or public display of wildlife by zoos. \$158.00 (for 3 years)

Falconry

For practicing the sport of hunting by means of a trained bird of prey. Apprentice \$63.00 (cost differs with level)

Raptor Propagation

For raising birds of prey for use in the sport of falconry. \$63.00

Nonresident Raptor Trapper

For nonresident falconers who want to trap a hawk in Texas. \$378.00

Protected Nongame Sales

For the sale of coatimundis. \$210.00

Endangered Species Propagation

For the breeding and sale of native Texas wildlife listed as endangered. 1st year \$300.00; renewal \$550.00

Furbearing Animal Import

For the import of furbearing animals for any purpose not covered by a scientific, educational, rehab or zoo permit.

Furbearing Animal Export Letter of Authorization

Needed to export furbearers for commercial trade.

Nuisance Furbearing Animal Trap/Relocation Letter of Authorization

For trapping and relocating nuisance furbearers.

Protected Wildlife Transport Letter of Authorization

For transporting wildlife under certain circumstances not covered by a permit.

Bobcat Pelt Dealer and Bobcat Tags

For export out of Texas or the sale of bobcat pelts.

Nongame Dealer Permit

Required to buy and resell listed nongame species. Resident \$63.00 Non-resident \$252.00 (expires Aug. 31 following issuance date)

Nongame Collection License

For collecting and/or selling white list nongame wildlife, or for possession of 25 or more of a species of nongame wildlife in the aggregate. License holders may only sell to nongame dealers.

Resident \$19.00 Non-resident \$63.00 (expires Aug. 31 following issuance date)

Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit

Rehabilitation

Permits are issued to individuals for rehabilitation of orphaned and injured wildlife. Rehabilitators work closely with veterinarians toward the ultimate goal of releasing the animal back into the wild. Facilities are inspected prior to permit issuance. TPWD does not grant any money for wildlife rehabilitation. There is no fee for the permit but you are required to pay for food, medication, housing, and other costs associated with treating an animal. It is not legal to propagate, sell or hold protected wildlife for public display under a rehabilitation permit, unless authorized by special provision. Annual reporting requirements apply. A permit from the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service is also required if you wish to rehabilitate birds. The USFWS Office can be reached at (505) 248-7882.

Scientific, Educational and Zoological Permits

General Rules

Application packets must be obtained from TPWD, completed and returned along with two letters of recommendation from individuals in an appropriate biological or professional field. If you wish to collect or hold an endangered species you must provide written justification explaining how the species will benefit from the proposed activity. These permits do not allow the sale of animals. Permits are issued for three years, and a report is required each year in order to maintain the permit.

Persons representing grade schools or certain governmental organizations are exempt from the permit fee. Facilities for housing live animals must meet minimum requirements specified by regulation.

Educational Display

Required to hold or collect protected wildlife, or parts of protected wildlife, for educational purposes. Issued only to agents of accredited primary, secondary, or post-secondary educational institutions, governmental entities, or nonprofit educational organizations.

Scientific Research

A scientific research permit is required to collect, salvage, band, or hold native Texas wildlife for scientific purposes. Scientific purposes include activities aimed at enhancing, protecting, conserving, or managing protected wildlife, or furthering scientific understanding of a resource or the environment.

Zoological

Issued to agents of facilities accredited by the American Zoo and Aquarium Association (AZA) or to agents of facilities that meet the standards established by Parks & Wildlife regulation (\$69.305) and whose letters of recommendation are from current zoological permit holders or from representatives of AZA accredited zoos. Native wildlife can be held under this permit to further scientific understanding of protected wildlife, encourage management and conservation of protected wildlife, or further awareness and understanding of the biology of protected wildlife.

Falconry and Raptor Propagation Permits

Falconry

There are three levels of falconry permits: apprentice, general and master. All falconers must have proper facilities and federal and state permits before possessing a bird. Apprentice falconers must practice the sport under a general or master level sponsor for two years before upgrading to general class. Apprentice falconers must capture their birds from the wild; general and master level falconers can obtain birds through a breeding project or from another falconer.

Raptor Propagation

These permits authorize raising birds of prey for use in the sport of falconry. Permittees must have at least five years of experience in the sport and adequate facilities to house breeding birds.

Nonresident Raptor Trapper

This permit allows falconers who have current resident-state and federal falconry permits to come to Texas and trap a bird of prey during the trapping season.

Permits for Threatened and Endangered Species

Endangered Species Propagation

This permit does not authorize take of any animals from the wild. It allows a person to keep legallyacquired endangered species for propagation purposes aimed at commercial sale.

Protected Nongame Sales

This permit is required for any person who distributes, sells, or offers for sale a coati (*Nasua narica*). No permit is needed to possess a captive-bred coati, but proof that the animal was acquired from a legal source is required. No coatimundis may be taken from the wild under this permit. An annual report is required.

Bobcat Pelt Dealer and Furbearer Permits

Furbearing Animal Import Permit

A person who desires to import a furbearing animal into the state of Texas must have a permit to do so. The permit must accompany the animal in transit, as well as a health certificate signed by a veterinarian in the state the animal is coming from. Importation of foxes, skunks and raccoons also requires a letter of authorization from the Texas Department of Health.

Furbearing Animal Export

In order to export furbearers from Texas a letter of authorization from the Wildlife Division is necessary. The shipper must submit proof that he or she has complied with all laws in the destination state or country prior to receiving authorization to ship furbearing animals from Texas.

Nuisance Furbearer Trap/Relocation

Anyone trapping and relocating nuisance furbearing animals must obtain a letter of authorization from the Wildlife Division stating the species to be trapped and their estimated numbers. Nuisance trappers must have landowner permission before releasing furbearing animals onto a piece of property. A monthly report is required whenever animals are trapped and relocated.

Bobcat Tag Dealer

Bobcat pelts taken in Texas (including tanned pelts and mounts) must be identified by a department-issued tag prior to being sold, traded or transported out of Texas. Tags may be obtained from a regional Texas Parks and Wildlife Law Enforcement Office or from any registered bobcat pelt dealer. Anyone wishing to become a registered pelt dealer should call (512) 389-4481 to request tags.

Nongame Permits

No person in this state may possess more than 6 specimens of a single kind of nongame wildlife or more than 25 specimens of nongame wildlife without a valid nongame collection or nongame dealer permit. A valid nongame collection permit is required to sell nongame wildlife. A valid nongame dealer permit is required to resell nongame wildlife. Nongame collection permit holders may only sell to licensed nongame dealers. Nongame collection permits can be purchased from any vendor where hunting and fishing licenses are sold. Dealers must apply directly to the Wildlife Permits Section. Annual reporting requirements apply.

Permits for White-tailed Deer and Alligators

TPWD offers several permits aimed at better managing white-tailed deer in Texas. For more information about these permits, please contact your local TPWD wildlife biologist or wildlife technician. If you are unaware of who your local biologists are, you may call (800) 792-1112 and request the Upland Wildlife Ecology Program. For Alligator Farmer permits, please call the J.D. Murphree Wildlife Management Area at (409) 736-2551.

For other information concerning hunting and fishing regulations, parks, wildlife or other subjects related to the department, call our toll-free number: (800) 792-1112 during regular business hours, or visit **www.tpwd.state.tx.us**. Texans may call (800) 792-GAME, 24 hours a day, to report a violation of the state's game and fish laws. A reward may be offered to eligible callers who provide information that leads to a conviction.

