Texas Wetlands Discovery Trunk

These trunks contain:

  • lesson plans,
  • books, posters, videos,
  • Texas Amphibian Watch materials (including a frog and toad calls cd-rom),
  • field equipment to guide students in their investigations of wetland habitats.

 

The trunks emphasize hands-on learning both in the classroom and in the field. Suggested activities at different grade levels for a 1- to 3-week study of Texas wetlands are correlated to the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills.

 

Trunk Locations:

City   Location Contact Email  Phone Address 
Abilene Region XIV Service Center John Lineweaver jlineweaver@esc14.net 325.675.8667 1850 Highway 351
Abilene 79601
Angleton Brazoria National Wildlife Refuge

Tom Schneider

tom_schneider@fws.gov 979.849.7771 1212 North Velasco, Ste. 200
Angleton 77515
Athens Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center Terry Bedford terry.bedford@tpwd.state.tx.us 903.670.2211 5550FM 2495
Athens 75751
Austin Texas Parks and Wildlife headquarters Robert Ramirez robert2.ramirez@tpwd.state.tx.us 512.389.4528 4200 Smith School Rd.
Austin 78744
College Station Texas A&M University - Texas Cooperative Wildlife Collection Heather Prestridge hlprestridge@tamu.edu 979.845.5783 3380 University Dr.
East College Station, 77845
Dickinson TPWD office - Dickinson Marine Lab Kevin Cunningham kevin.cunningham@tpwd.state.tx.us 281.534.0123 FM 517 E.
Dickinson 77539
Fort Worth Fort Worth Nature Center Laura Veloz laura.veloz@fortworthgov.org 817.392.7410 9601 Fossil Ridge Rd.
Ft. Worth 76135
Grand Prairie Grand Prairie Environmental Education Center Traci Hollis tracy.hollis@gpisd.org 972.264.8729 3303 Corn Valley Rd.
Grand Prairie 75052
Grand Prairie Education Specialist-North Texas Keira Quam Keira.quam@tpwd.texas.gov 972.263.0427 (office) 469.644.2705 (state cell) P.O. Box 540066
Grand Prairie, 75054
Houston Sheldon Lake Environmental Ed. Center Tom Olson tom.olson@tpwd.state.tx.us 281.456.2800 15315 Beaumont Hwy.
Houston 77049
Humble Jesse Jones Park - Humble Darlene Conley dconley@hcp4.net 281.446.8588 20634 Kenswick Dr.
Humble 77338
Lake Jackson Sea Center Texas Connie Stolte connie.stolte@tpwd.state.tx.us 979.292.0100 300 Medical Dr.
Lake Jackson 77566
Laredo Laredo Community College Tom Miller lbvesc@laredo.edu 956.764.5701 West End Washington St.
Laredo 78040
Lubbock TPWD office Vicki Sybert vicki.sybert@tpwd.state.tx.us 806.761.4956 1702 Landmark La., Ste 3
Lubbock 79415
San Antonio San Antonio Judit Green judit.green@tpwd.state.tx.us 210.348.6350 134 Braniff Dr.
San Antonio 78216
San Antonio Texas Wildlife Assoc. Helen Holdsworth h_holdsworth@texas-wildlife.org 1.800.839.9453 or
210.826.2904, ext. 120
2800 NE Loop 410, Ste. 105
San Antonio 78219
Wichita Falls Lake Arrowhead State Park Tadd Gose tad.gose@tpwd.state.tx.us 940.528.2211 229 Park Road 63
Wichita Falls 76310



Back to Top
Back to Top